February 2017 Moms

Doulas

Is anyone currently working with a doula, or has anyone previously worked with one?  I am interested in contracting a doula, but I don't even know where to begin.  I started researching on Doulamatch.net and got super overwhelmed.  There are so many different types of certifications, specialty services, price ranges, etc.  I would love some advice from BTDTs or FTMs who are better at this than me.  

Re: Doulas

• We worked with a doula with our last birth and I work in the birth industry.  This info may help you:  https://www.dona.org/mothers/how_to_hire_a_doula.php
    Expecting #5
    Rainbow baby after 3 losses
    Due February, 2017

• If you have any local mom groups on Facebook, that can be an awesome resource to ask for doula recommendations in your area. We've got lots of doulas on my local moms group. 
  • Loading the player...
  • Go with what @tentacular said - start with a mom group on FB, they should have some great recommendations. 
    I'm using doulamatch.com to find ones in my area, and then going with my gut feeling. It's not always about the certifications (although those are good), I look for years of experience. Since I don't have my mom with me any longer, I kind of want a motherly influence there with me. Sounds kind of silly, but it would be nice to have that.
    Babysizer Geeky Pregnancy  Baby Tracker
  • *lurking from Jan 16*

Dont be afraid to interview multiple doulas! Look at their websites and try to get a feel for their personalities. You are going to want someone that meshes well with you and your SO. I interviewed several doulas before I found one that I got along with well. Good luck!
  • I agree, certifications are important but for me, a calming presence and warm personality is vital. 
    Expecting #5
    Due February, 2017

• What exactly does a doula do?