December 2016 Moms

2nd Tri Weight Gain

hi ladies! So I had a bit of a confusing run in with the nurse at my appt today. When she weighed me, I was up 5 pounds from my prepregnancy weight. She seemed a little shocked so I asked if that was normal and she said it was a bit much for this early...I'm 17 weeks. So cue the "I really wanna punch you in the face." My OB didn't say anything about it...but isn't 5-10 pounds normal by now? Just need some easing of the mind.

Re: 2nd Tri Weight Gain

• I'm up 15 pounds and my midwife isn't concerned. (I am, but whatever.) I eat mostly okay and exercise regularly...I guess my body just wants to hang onto everything I eat. Just take care of yourself, feed your baby, and you should be fine! I'm not a professional, but that nurse seems cray.
    Me: 31 | DH: 31
    Together since 2003 | Married 2010
    TTC #1 January 2016
    BFP April 18 2016 | EDD December 29, 2016
    Welcome baby A! January 9, 2017

TTC#2 March 2018
    BFP March 30, 2018 | EDD December 12, 2018
  • I'm up 11 lbs from pre pregnancy weight. Doctors aren't concerned at all. I think it's most important to be eating right and staying active. I was told 2nd trimester it's normal to gain around 1 lb per week. 
    Me 32 DH 34
    Married 9/2012 

TTC #2 starting 9/2019
    BFP 7/13/2020!
    Due 3/18/2021

TTC #1 since 2/2015
    Diagnosis: Unexplained Infertility 9/2015
    IUIs #1-#5: 9/2015-2/2016 all BFNs
    Moving to IVF with ICSI and PGS 5/2016-6/2016  Just kidding, BFP 4/4/2016!
    Spencer Elliott born 12/7/2016

• Loading the player...
  • I went to my 16 week appointment last week and my doctor said, and I quote, "Up 5 pounds so far this pregnancy, excellent!" I think a lot of it has to do with what your pre weight was, what the goal for the pregnancy is, and many other things.... it's going to be completely individualized for each person and if your doctor didn't say anything I wouldn't worry :smile:
    BabyFruit Ticker