December 2016 Moms

Diastasis Recti

I'm scared that my abdominal muscles are already starting to separate! I'm 16w 4d and I don't even have much of a bump yet. I'm a fitness instructor and I've barely started modifying workouts so far, so I've still been doing a lot of core/ab work. I'm worried that my as my abs start to stretch in opposition to the tightening work I've been doing, they're separating. It's still a small separation, about 2 fingers wide, but I obviously don't want it to get worse! Have any STMs dealt with this? Do I have to completely stop doing ab work? So far, I've just been REALLY careful not to do anything where by abs pop up into that lovely teepee shape.

Re: Diastasis Recti

• No experience, but I have been worried about that too. From what I've read, all regular ab exercises (crunches) should be stopped because they're not helping any, and core exercises specific to prenatal workouts should be done (like prenatal yoga/pilates) and squats. I read squats are very helpful in preventing that. 
    Met DH - 9/2003
    Dating - 9/18/2012
    Married - 8/16/2014
    NTNP - 7/2014-5/2015 
    TTC #1 - 5/2015 (CP October @ 4w2d)
    *PCOS/Hypothyroid/Ectopic Kidney/High DHEA-S*
    HSG - All clear, ectopic kidney didn't affect uterus (yay!)
    CT Adrenal Scan - no tumors! :D
    SA - sperm count excellent, 2% Morphology
    March/April IUI scheduled -  surprise BFP w/ help of Progesterone - 3/18/2016
    Beta #1 @ 11dpo - 45.7 #2 @ 14dpo - 163 #3 @ 18dpo - 997 #4 @ 21dpo - 3799 :D
    EDD 12/1 based on O, 11/28 per Ob/Gyn (but he's wrong lol).

*TEAM BLUE!*

BabyFruit Ticker

Image result for funny i hate football memes

• Have you read or looked into Fit2b? It's an online work out community that heals DR and is DR safe work outs. I don't do any normal ab workouts due to wanting to save/heal my DR. I'd be wary of any excersizes that put any outward pressure on the abs.