October 2016 Moms

Pregnancy induced carpal tunnel

Anyone else experiencing this? I am 24 weeks now and my hands have been getting tingly and numb at night and when I drive for a few months and in the past week my left wrist started to hurt and now it is in a splint brace. I saw my Dr. today and she says carpal tunnel and won't get better until I have baby. I can feel a little pain in my right wrist too now and am concerned, mostly for work. I work in a hospital and do a lot of lifts and turns. My Dr. never wrote a note but said I should ask for lighter patient duties. She said to keep my wrists as straight as I can and try not to bend them up or down. If it gets bad in my other hand too, I should wear a brace on that one too. Sigh. Def the most painful part of pregnancy so far. Anyone else?

Re: Pregnancy induced carpal tunnel

• This time around it's been very minor but last pregnancy it was horrible. I would wake up after an hour asleep to numb hands, my thumbs and wrists always hurt and the thumb on my left hand would click and feel like it was popping out. I've gotten lucky that it's just occasional soreness in one hand so far. I was told the same thing, it will only get better by having the baby and it did go away after a few days of delivery. I worked from home on the computer last time and am a SAHM this time so I have no advice with work. I'm sorry you a re dealing with it and I hope you find some relief.
    BFP: July 2013 M/C August 5, 2013
    BFP: October 22, 2013 EDD: June 21, 2014
    Baby boy arrived June 23, 2014

BFP: February 2016 EDD: October 17, 2016
  • I had it last time, it didn't start til 3rd trimester. It was mostly worst after sleeping. I expect to get it this time too...I too will ask for light duty at work if it gets bad again. Sorry. It does go away though.
  • Loading the player...
  • knock on wood I only have it after bed and driving