August 2016 Moms
Options

Sitting all day--advice needed

So, during the school year, I am a teacher, but during the summer, I score portfolios for Pearson. I am worried because I generally stand most of the day, but will be sitting for 7 hours a day from when I will be 33 weeks until 36 weeks. I wasn't worried until yesterday when I sat through a 3 hour meeting and had pain in my lower back.  Those of you with jobs that involve lots of sitting, how do you deal? Any special must have for spending long periods sitting while pregnant?

Re: Sitting all day--advice needed

• Options
    I sit at a desk 8-9 hours a day with my job. The best advice I can give is to get up at least once an hour and go for a 5-10 minute walk. Sometimes that's hard to do if you're really busy, which happens to me a lot, but try to do it as often as you can. I also do some stretches for about two minutes every time I go to the bathroom and will sometimes stand while I do my work for a few minutes at a time. While you are sitting, make sure you're sitting with the proper posture and feet positioning to make sure you're getting optimal blood flow. 
  • Options
    I don't know if this is a possibility for you, but I sugest bringing an exercise ball to replace your chair. It is a game changer. If I sit in a regular chair for too long o notice my legs swell. 
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I sit behind a desk for work as well. I usually try and get up every hour or couple of hours to walk around or stretch for a few minutes. While sitting down, I'll flex my feet and prop them up. As for back pain, I had to change the type of chair I was sitting in and add a pillow for my lower back to be comfortable. 
  • Options
    Sit on a pillow!!! It sounds wierd, but as you eventually slouch into poor posture the pillow moves- forcing you to shift your body. Ive been using the seatbelt pillow MIL got me a few wks ago. Its small enough to fit in my seat without drawing attn. 
  • Options