December 2015 Moms

*Job Rant--The Trials of a Sonographer*

I just have to get this off my chest...and since we are all recent mothers, I figured this would be a good place to do this. 

Let me start off by saying that I love my job. I scan babies for a living. I worked hard to be here and it's a blessing to be part of the emotional rollercoaster of pregnancy.

That being said, I get so irritated by the majority of expecting mothers when it comes to the 20 week ultrasound. It is an ANATOMY scan, not a gender scan (and yes, that is what 99.9 percent of the mother's call it--the GENDER scan). When I ask if you want me to tell you the sex of your baby, don't tell me that that is the point of this scan. Get off your high horse. This exam is to make sure that baby is OK. Finding out the sex is just a bonus. It's an hour long exam for a reason. There are a lot of pictures that we take to make sure that baby will be healthy when it's born. If it was for the sex of the baby, the exam would only take a few seconds. 

My other pet peeve? Don't cry and get mad when I tell you the wrong sex. It's not my fault. It really irks me when I have pity parties in my room. Especially because ij just scanned someone who has miscarried 3 times and is going through another one. Or I just had a mother in my room who I just performed an anatomy scan on who's baby has a fatal condition. Just be happy that you have a beautiful, healthy child. 

BTW, I love patients who don't want to know the sex of the baby, or who tell me that they don't care what the baby is, the only important part of the exam is to make sure baby is healthy.

Sorry for the long rant. I mean no offense to anybody in particular. I just had a bad week at work and needed a chance to vent. Hopefully next week is better! Hug your precious angels. We have so much to be thankful for!

Re: *Job Rant--The Trials of a Sonographer*

• I think everyone here can and will agree with you. You rock! We do have so much to be thankful for!