Babies on the Brain

Massive student debt - resigned to living with it?

Happy Tuesday!

So DH and I have outrageous amounts of student loan debt due to both of us coming from little, attending undergraduate and law school. Combined we have close to $300,000 (yes you read that right). Just writing that number I can barely breathe. Our payments each month are about equal with our mortgage (which is quite high here in NJ). I work in the public interest sector and after 9 more years, any student loan debt I have will be forgiven (yay!). However, at that point, DH's will increase because I no longer will have any payments to make. We have no hope of being able to pay off these loans for many, many, many years. 

So my question is thus - has anyone else resigned themselves to the fact that they will be paying student loans for the rest of their lives? If so, how is this factoring into waiting TTC and/or your babyfund/budget? I get so depressed over how much student loan debt we have, but am trying to be glass half-full. 

BabyFruit Ticker

[spoiler]

Me: 28  Him: 30

Married: 11/15/14

TTC: 02/2016

IF DX: MFI (low count & morphology) & mild PCOS

June 2016 BFP - MC @8w2d

August 2016 BFP - MC @6w1d

June 2017 - 50 mg Clomid + Ovidrel + IUI = BFP 7/6/17!!

Beta #1 = 422 (14dpo), Beta #2 = 810, prog - 12.3 (16dpo), Beta #3 = 5023, prog - 18.9 (20dpo)

[/spoiler]

Re: Massive student debt - resigned to living with it?

• OhPandabear63OhPandabear63 member
    edited February 2016