July 2016 Moms

Struggling to Balance Work and Mom-ness

My husband and I are expecting our second child in July 2016, and we are so thrilled to be expanding our family!  However, I'm currently struggling to balance my career and being a mother to our 16 month old son, and am a little bit panicked about what next year will look like.  

I am a high school English teacher, and while I was nervous about balancing teaching and parenthood last year, my husband and I found a balance.  My husband's daycare provided free daycare, and I left for school early.  By getting to school an hour before school started, and knowing that husband and baby wouldn't be home until 5:00, I was able to manage my grading and planning mostly at school, allowing me to be free for family time whenever we were at home together. 

Over the summer, my husband got a new job with much less predictable hours (and no free daycare), and it's been much more difficult for me to strike that same balance.  I can't spend the same amount of time at school after the school day, and my husband is frequently out in the evenings.  Facing next year, I'm nervous about trying to continue this balancing act with a second child and paying for daycare for two children under two years old, and I'm feeling more and more like I want to stay home next year.  However, it's difficult.  So much of my identity is wrapped up in being a teacher, but I feel like my students aren't getting enough of me at this point, and I'm not sure how I would be able to give them more next year.  

My husband and I have discussed, and are talking about the possibility of me staying home next year, but have agreed I would need to be bringing in supplemental income.  I'm hoping that we're able to figure out a way to make this work, but we'll see what happens. 

Re: Struggling to Balance Work and Mom-ness