February 2016 Moms
Options

Padsicles

Hi Ladies,

So, I've heard amazing things about homemade padsicles using witch hazel and aloe gel. I have some lavender essential oil to add to them too. I realized (as I'm just about to make them) that I didn't buy 100% Witch Hazel. Instead it's 86% WH 14% alcohol. For those of you who have made these, has anyone used WH with alcohol and did you find that it stung, etc? Thought I'd ask before I make a whole batch! 

Re: Padsicles

• Options
    I have never made/used these before, so I have no experience, but everything I can find online says to use 100%. After the many things I have read about how it burns down there after birth, I would guess alcohol would sting quite a bit!
  • Options
    Even the most natural WH I could find seemed to have some amount of alcohol. I looked at a few places then just went with it. I put jojoba oil in instead of lavender b/c I found it first. 
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    How do you go about making these? Is it you typical pad just soaked and frozen?
  • Options
    Just a suggestion - don't make a ton in advance in case you don't like something about them/they sting. Also, I've had 2nd/3rd degree tears with my births and never wanted/felt like I needed these after leaving the hospital. But I guess they aren't terribly expensive to make if you don't end up using them all:)
    *E 10/2012, H 7/2014, F 2/2016*
    Pregnancy Ticker

• Options
    I used witch hazel with 14% alcohol and I didn't feel any sting. Not that I can remember at least. I actually just made some padsicles the other day!
  • Options
    I needed 1 stitch and only found relief from them the first night. The nurse said to me the next day that they don't recommend them past 24 hours because it can hinder everything going back to the right size down there.
  • Options