1st Trimester

*Complications*

I had my first ultrasound EVER today (just past 8 weeks), and everything looked fine in the room. DH and I were so relieved, because I've had a nagging feeling for years that I would have a complicated reproductive time (and everything had thus far been totally smooth). Afterward (and after checking with the Dr, I assume), the tech said baby has some extra fluid around the brain. That could be totally fine, probably 90% probability, but it could also be as extreme as preventing any brain growth (so I'd lose the baby). The most common consequences I can find online (if it doesn't go away) are spina bifida, down's syndrome, and lymphatic disorders. I have to go in for additional testing in a few weeks. 

I am so incredibly scared. DH was there, and he is super supportive, but I am so. incredibly. terrified. A 10% chance that my baby could just not develop a brain? How do I even begin to process that. And to top it off, I'm an attorney who does litigation, so my job is crazy intense and exciting, and I've been distracted all day. So now I feel super guilty about that, too. 

If you've had complications, how have you processed it? Who did you talk to? How do you even find other women who have these issues, since most women never talk about complications, miscarriages, etc.?

Re: *Complications*

• Well sorry you're going through this!! It sucks!! I got worrying news at my anatomy scan that baby had an echogenic cardiac focus, a bright spot on the heart, which is thought of as a soft marker for some chromosomal issues. To say I was worried was an understatement. We did additional testing and thankfully it all came back ok. I totally understand the worry you're going through. If you don't feel satisfied with the information the doctor gave you, you should absolutely call back and ask for further clarification. I did that once the fog had cleared a little.