Daycare policy? — The Bump
Working Moms

Daycare policy?

We found a daycare we like, it's at the top end of the price scale for the area at $300/week. They only do full time, which I've heard other places do but you also pay if you go on vacation. I suppose it won't make a difference ultimately since it's the only place we've liked but is that pretty standard that you'd pay for a week your LO is gone for?

Re: Daycare policy?

• Yes, that is standard.  You basically pay year round, full-time even if you are on vacation, if you want them to save the spot for you while you are gone.
    crsanchez87
  • Yes, that is standard.  You basically pay year round, full-time even if you are on vacation, if you want them to save the spot for you while you are gone.

• This. I don't love that we have to pay when we go on vacation, especially because I work in a school system so I have long breaks like our upcoming Christmas break. We will essentially be paying for the two weeks that we will be traveling. But when DS is school aged he will most likely be in private school so I just tell myself that this is helping us to get ready to budget for his inevitable tuition. 

• Loading the player...
  • SLGILL1978SLGILL1978 member
    edited December 2015
    It's pretty standard. However my daughter attends an in home now, and we don't pay for my babysitter's vacation days. I love my babysitter and I wouldn't mind paying it, but she has never taken any since my daughter has been there (two years). I also work for the school district and I only pay half a deposit for the summer when I was off previously (I now work year round). 
  • My daughters' daycare center lets you only pay half the tuition for full weeks of vacation if you give them 2 weeks advance notice.