Miscarriage/Pregnancy Loss

Exactly 10 Weeks, advice on D&C?

Hi, unfortunately I just had a miscarriage at 10 weeks, coincidentally the same day I had an ultra sound visit scheduled. Anyway, my doctor advised a D&C because at 10 + weeks it's hard to pass naturally all the tissue and if you can't, you end up with an emergency D&C due to excessive bleeding anyway. This is my first experience with miscarriage, any help or advice is greatly appreciated. I only know what my doctor has told me about it, I don't know anyone who's had to have one at 10 weeks. I work full time and the thought of passing the baby at work - I just know I won't be able to do that without having a total nervous breakdown at work and I work in finance and I just can't do that at work. the baby was at the point it looked like a baby on the ultra sound... And I don't know what I'd do when I passed it..

Re: Exactly 10 Weeks, advice on D&C?

• I'm so sorry you are going through this. I have had two D&Cs one at 8weeks and one at 10 weeks. I am glad I got them done rather than miscarrying on my own. But everyone has different experiences. It's deciding between one crappy thing and another crappy thing. you just have to weigh the options and decide which is the least crappy for you right now. Some things to consider are that natural miscarriages can carry on for days especially when you are further a long and like you said you have to see the baby when you pass it. With a D&C you are asleep through the worst of it but it is a surgical procedure so it's possible to have complications. Miscarrying at home is "free" but you'll have to pay for the surgery. I was lucky and only had a $200 copay but I've read stories on here or families getting stuck with bills for $1000s.

Again I'm sorry you're faced with this decision. Big hugs.
    TW: MMC
    BFP1 12/24/14 - EDD 09/07/15 (D/C 8w1d)
    BFP2 6/12/15 - EDD 2/22/16 (D/C 10w3d)
    ———
    Diagnoses and Treatments
    PCOS (myo-inositol, excercize)