3rd Trimester

Braxton-Hicks, any risks?

Sassa1988Sassa1988 member
edited December 2015 in 3rd Trimester
Hello,
First time posting! I've tried every which way to find an answer to my question on Google with no luck so I'm hoping someone here has some insight they can share! I'm 37 weeks pregnant, not high risk, 2cm dilated and baby is still floating. I have BH contrations almost every day but they are more concentrated while I'm at work. Since I'm a manager in retail, I'm on my feet and busy 95% of the time I'm on shift and it's not uncommon for me to not be able to rest or sit down during some very painful BH contractions and I'm worried that it might hurt the baby after too long. Should I be concerned?

Re: Braxton-Hicks, any risks?

• Braxton Hicks contractions are infrequent, usually happening no more than once or twice an hour, a few times a day. They often stop if you change activity, so, walk around if you've been sitting, and vice versa.
    They are usually irregular, and if they are regular they only stay that way for a short spell. They normally do not last long, usually less than a minute and continue to be unpredictable and non-rhythmic. They can be uncomfortable but they really don't last long. Whenever possible drink tons of water!! Lots of water and any possible relaxation helps them subside. I'm not sure if there's any "risks" with Braxton Hicks, that would be a question for your doctor. When is your next appointment? Maybe have a talk with your employer and let them know that you need to take More frequent breaks or possibly make your breaks a few minutes longer to help you be more productive? Not sure :-/
    I would definitely have a talk with your doctor though and see if there are any risks and other options to help prevent a bad case of BH. :smile: