June 2016 Moms

F-U "maternity leave"

TunieBeeTunieBee member
edited November 2015 in June 2016 Moms

I know there have already been discussions on this, but they were awhile ago...

I just found out I literally have ZERO maternity leave. I'm a nurse practitioner in a very large medical practice (hundreds of employees and over 200 doctors/NPs/PA) and apparently I do not qualify for FMLA because I only work part-time. My company offers NO maternity leave outside of FMLA. I was instructed by HR to come to an agreement with my fellow physician about my maternity leave. Luckily, she is a woman with two children and very reasonable. She was also fairly taken aback by this. We agreed I will take 12 weeks and we can reassess whether I need more or less. Per my company's non-policy this will all be without pay. Ughhhhh.

Thanks for anyone who read that whole rant. I understand my situation is not unique and many people have it even worse than I do, at least I am allowed to take off the time I feel I need.

ETA: I now realize this should probably go in the Bitchfest Monday thread. Apologies.

Re: F-U "maternity leave"

• You may be eligible for short term disability. Check your state government website.
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Corts said:
    You may be eligible for short term disability. Check your state government website.

Definitely do this.

And I'm so sorry. My maternity leave situation blows also. It's such a shame.

• Loading the player...
  • Thanks, ladies! I just sent an email to HR, it is our open enrollment time so perhaps I can sign up for short-term disability. Is it likely they will let me given that I am already pregnant?

• TunieBee said:
    Thanks, ladies! I just sent an email to HR, it is our open enrollment time so perhaps I can sign up for short-term disability. Is it likely they will let me given that I am already pregnant?