Pregnant after a Loss

Any other healthcare moms?

So I am so anxious for these next 16 weeks to fly by. I am obviously very excited to meet my little very active man and for this rainbow pregnancy to be safely behind me. I am trying to enjoy this pregnancy as much as I can and gave been able to relax a little and enjoy it now that I can feel his kicks and movements. However, work is stressing me out!!! I work in healthcare (respiratory therapist) in a very large hospital that has a diverse group of patients as well as offering a higher level of care. Translation, I run all over the place and have the.potential to be exposed to numerous things that aren't particularly something you want to get while pregnant. Some things are not posted on doors to warn of what you could be exposed to. Main example is CMV. We are the only hospital in the state that does lung transplants and almost all of those patients are CMV+. I have requested to not be on those units while pregnant, but my assignment many times includes helping that unit or covering for the therapist in that unit when they have to take another patient off the floor. I feel like I have to tell someone daily that I can't care for a patient that to them seems safe for a pregnant caregiver. I am over it and I am afraid others are getting annoyed with it as well. I am willing to go in flu rooms, common cold rooms, pneumonia, etc. But I draw the line with CMV and TB which is not hospital policy to protect pregnant workers against. Just needed to rant. Am I alone?

Re: Any other healthcare moms?

• Congratulations! I'm not in health care, but don't feel bad about refusing certain patients and definitely don't care what other people think. If they wouldn't go get a baby from the nursery and take it into that room, then they should understand that you're taking care of your baby on the inside just as they would a baby that was already born.