Breastfeeding
Options

Breastfeeding part-time. Will this work?

I've been lurking on this board, so this is my first time posting.  I'm pregnant, and I know that everything could change when baby gets here.  However, feeding (among many other things) is part of the decision if I will go back to work.  

I was hoping the ladies here could tell me if this is feasible.  If I return to work, baby will be going to our on-campus daycare.  So, I could BF in the morning before work, during my lunch, and in the evening.  I was hoping to use formula while baby was at daycare (except for feeding during my break).

I'm allowed to take a max of 12 weeks.  So baby would be (hopefully) BF until we start to partly-transition him.  Here's the tricky part. Daycare won't have room for baby until mid-August (even that's not a guarantee....yikes!), and I have to be back at work mid-July. :(  Hubby will be at home since he is faculty, but I live way too far to go home to nurse at lunch.  We have one car, so hubby bringing baby to work isn't an option.  During the summer, I will have time to pump because things are super relaxed in my office.  Will skipping the noon-session for a month possibly mess with my supply?  Bringing baby to work some days in the summer might be an option. 

Once fall semester starts in August, I can block out time to go nurse at lunch. It's not that I can't pump at work, but I would not have time to pump every 2-3 hours.  When things get busy, I barely have time to pee between student appointments.  Haha.  Thanks for your insight!

Re: Breastfeeding part-time. Will this work?

• Options