June 2016 Moms
Options

Trying to get a job while pregnant

Hello,
I am currently a GM at a restaurant and Saturday is my last day. These 50-60 hour weeks are getting rough. My Boyfriend is the district manager so he's just going to run my store as well. I still would like to work until I give birth and I have a bunch of interviews lined up in medical offices (I'm a med student so I'll be happy to be working in my field). My boyfriend thinks I should tell them during the interview that I'm pregnant, but I'm afraid I won't get hired anywhere. I'm only 8 weeks so I have a while to go.
Thoughts? Opinions?

Re: Trying to get a job while pregnant

• Options
    I actually posted a similar question on one of the job threads a few days ago (my apologies to the ladies who offered advice and I forgot to respond).

My company is going through some organizational changes, and there is a chance my entire team could get laid off within the next few months. I am going to start looking for something now just in case, but it's daunting.

I was talking to the HR lady where I work and she gave me some reassurance. Companies looking to hire can't discriminate or NOT hire you just because you're pregnant. If I get to an interview, I will likely not tell them I'm pregnant unless it's already obvious. They also  cannot fire you after getting hired for not telling them you're pregnant.

I would go ahead and interview. Since you're only 8 weeks, I wouldn't mention anything about your pregnancy until after you're hired. 
    Others who have been through this already may have some better advice, but that is what I plan on doing unless I hear otherwise.

Good luck!
  • Loading the player...
  • Options