December 2015 Moms
Options

Thinking about quitting my job

Is it the hormones?!

I'm a teacher. I honestly love what I do. I can't think of a more rewarding or fulfilling job!

Here's the problem - stress.

Before getting pregnant, there was still stress but it only effected me. It didn't even get to the point where it effected my husband because he always encouraged me to leave work at work. Everything was fine!

Now that I'm pregnant, though, you quickly realize that your own stress is a major factor in the development of your baby. YOUR CHILD!! How can I even justify that?! How can I give up so much family time?! It has trickled down to my husband too now because he is obviously wanting everything to be alright with baby girl as well. He has enough to worry about with his own job.

I talked to my brother yesterday, he sells insurance for a big local company over the phone. He makes $20,000 more than me!!! And he gets to truly be done with work at the end of the day and not take anything home.

Sure, I get some time off in the summer. And by time off I mean the weeks in between the weeks of professional development and preparing for the next year. I won't do summer school now that baby girl will be here.

I'm having a crisis of sorts. My husband says I should quit after this year, that if I'm even considering it that I really don't want to do it. That's not true entirely. I really do love it, but I love my family more and I want what's best for them. I refuse to talk to my parents or anything about it because I fear they'll pretty much tell me to buck up and blah blah blah. Maybe the won't but until I'm more sure I don't even want to broach the topic.

I've also thought about changing positions within the school. I have an ESL license to teach English as a secon language... That's really small group work and less stress than a whole classroom teacher has.