May 2016 Moms

Having larger babies

Today I went to my 12 week appointment and my dr informed me that because my previous pregnancy I had a large baby (9 lbs 9oz) that it is likely I will have another. I gained 38 lbs and had no issues during labor or delivery. We were both healthy. She said that I need to gain 25 lbs this time to keep the babies weight down. Mind you I am 5'8 and weigh 129 when I got pregnant. She also told me that if they think the baby is big they will induce me a week or two early.

I'm super upset about the whole thing. I think it's rude and not even medically necessary to say any of it. I'm curious if someone else has experienced this. I'm against early induction and with my last pregnancy I gained regardless of what I ate. I ate healthy and was active I'm a teacher on my feet all day and went on walks all the time.

Any similar experiences?

Re: Having larger babies

• I always thought that the size of the mother isn't necessarily a reflection of the baby. I, of course, am not a Dr so I could very well be mistaken. My friend gained a whopping 65 pounds and her baby was only 7lbs at delivery.

I agree that it seems really rude of the Dr to say that. I would be looking at different docs quite honestly.

• They can't necessarily tell how big the baby is. I had a growth scan the day before my LO was born and they estimated 9 lbs 10 oz, give or take a pound (which freaked me right out!) and she was 8 lbs 14 oz. Maybe it was a suggestion and not a mandate? I say play it by ear and tell your OB you are not interested in being induced early unless it is medically necessary (like high blood pressure or other life threatening reasons), and that you would like to go for the 40 week mark. Good luck!

Babysizer Cravings Pregnancy Tracker

BFP 1: 9/15/2013 | DD 5/23/2014
    BFP 2: 9/15/2015 | EDD 5/26/2016

• Loading the player...