May 2016 Moms

All my fellow school staff: When to tell students/parents?

I am just full of questions lately! But as long as you all are full of great answers, I'll keep 'em coming  ;)

I was wondering when/if teachers/school staff plan to tell students and parents about your pregnancy or maternity leave plans? I ask because I am a school nurse and I have a few students who see me regularly for medications, treatments and check-ins. I have very strong parent communication and have already had to let parents know when a sub will be covering for appointments/sick days. I am not sure when would be a good time to let them know I am leaving for maternity leave possibly as early as mid-April. I know that some of my students (they are elementary school age so it is very different from when I was pregnant with my son and working in the high school!) are aware that something is up, especially when I am sick at work. I just don't know if I should wait until 2 weeks before my estimated leave so as not to freak out parents or if I should give more warning. 

What are your plans? Have you already told your students and parents? Have your administrators given any recommendations? TIA!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

BabyFruit Ticker

Re: All my fellow school staff: When to tell students/parents?

•  (I'm the school social worker/ counselor in an elementary school)
    I actually have begun letting students and parents know on an as needed basis this week. I lead our three Girl Scout troops after school and I notified parents of those girls via newsletter this week that I'm pregnant, I'd need additional volunteers at times because of this, and that someone else would need to step up and lead meetings around April. These parents of course told their daughters.