September 2015 Moms

Graduated from pumping to breastfeeding

v1wwov1wwo member
edited October 2015 in September 2015 Moms

I think my baby has finally started to suck on my boob! - But only with a nipple shield. She still hates the actual thing and I don't blame her. My nipples are tiny.

We were trying really hard for it to work in the beginning. About 6 LC seen us in one week. Most of the time it was a horrible experience where the baby would cry and I would cry when they left. I would feel really bad about myself and my nipples. I finally said F.U. all and told myself I’ll just pump.

Today she rested next to me and opened her mouth, found my chest and latched on to my shirt… then she looked at me. (Like actually looked up and down my face… like something finally clicked in her brain) What the hell, I’ll tried again and she didn’t cry but suckled joyfully.

I been pumping for 3 weeks and by now I am a pro at that but unfortunately I don't know the 101 on breast feeding. 

It’s like 20 min per boob…. how do I know if it’s empty or is she is getting anything? How do I do it in public lol? Should I still pump after ever feed?

I think I will stay pumping for now but now I feel like I can be freer to go outside the house and not worry about the time or that I will explode.

(btw as I am typing this my baby is farting like a pro! I’m so proud of her lol)

Re: Graduated from pumping to breastfeeding

• The only way you know about the amount from breastfeeding is diaper output... Though you'd have some idea from how much you were pumping.
    Breastfeeding in public... In not much help - I like the mothering rooms when out... Nursing tanks helps me keep my dignity even there... :)
    I would keep pumping to keep up your output and it's no harm to have extra stored... Maybe not after every feed but the lighter ones.
    You've so got this!!!!!!
  • I am so happy for you! I hope you and baby continue with great success! :-)
  • Loading the player...