August 2015 Moms

This "lactation" room is dreary!

BrooklynnCEBrooklynnCE member
edited September 2015 in August 2015 Moms
So I just started back to work and will be pumping at work 3 times a day (one being my lunch break) I work in a lab and unfortunately I don't have an office I can pump in. There is one other mom who pumps but, lucky for her, she has an office. The room they put me in to pump is awful! One old office chair, what seems to be a futon, and a little table. I'm on day 2 of pumping and being back to work and was considering asking the HR manager for a few accommodations. Such as a shelf or cabinet to put extra things I'll need rather than lug them back and forth with me every day but I'm nervous. Has anyone else went through this before? Any advice?

Re: This "lactation" room is dreary!

• Lurking from October... I believe the ONLY thing they legally need to provide is a "private place". I'm a teacher and had to pump behind a screen in the nurses office where my high school students could hear.
    If you have a good relationship, ask. However, if you really need something, just bring it yourself.
    Some people get really snippy about nursing moms ("I wish I could take a break every few hours") so, depending on your work environment, you might expect some resentment. I personally wouldn't ask for anything extra. Good luck!