October 2015 Moms
Options

Introducing a bottle

Hi all! I'm new to The Bump! Curious as to when other moms introduce bottle feeding. I plan on breastfeeding as well as bottle feeding breast milk. Also, supplementing if need be. Thoughts/advise? Thanks!

Re: Introducing a bottle

• Options
    I am a FTM so don't know for sure but our breast feeding class instructor said that they need 3 weeks to learn to breast feed and then you can introduce the bottle and binky.
  • Options
    Congratulations! Ya, I have twin boys who were born at 32 weeks and my milk never came in so I was unable to breastfeed. Against my wishes, the hospital gave them both binkies. But that's what I was thinking, 3-4 weeks.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    It's recommended at 4-6 weeks old, but we plan to immediately so there is less nipple confusion and so daddy can bomd with baby. We will be only using the bottle from daddy and breast from mommy as sometimes they won't go back to breast once they see how easy a bottle is. As long as they "see" milk comes from bottle from daddy and breast from mommy, transition back and forth will be easier. This is what my cousin did with all of her kids and said it worked well!
  • Options
    We waited 6 weeks with our daughter and regretted every second of it. She would not take a bottle for the longest time and we JD to go through many bottle types before finally finding one that worked (Dr Browns). We will be introducing bottles hopefully between 3-4 weeks this time unless he is a champ at BF, in which case we may introduce earlier. When youndonintroduce a bottle, we found that the slowest flow nipple possible worked best for our daughter. It most closely mimicked the natural flow of the breast and she still had to work to get milk. It wasn't easy for her.
  • Options