1st Trimester

Light bleeding & cramping...but saw heartbeat

Hi everyone! It's my first time posting and I'm pregnant for the first time! I'm not far along (6 weeks 2 days) so my husband and I haven't told many people yet. So that means I am feeling completely lost and clueless and can't yet confide in my mommy friends. On Monday I woke up to some light bleeding, brownish, and some cramping. I went to the ER and they did blood work and a transvaginal ultrasound. I was over the moon to see that little flicker of a heartbeat! They told me they could see some blood around the sac, but no active bleeding..they said what I was experiencing could be old blood just now coming out. But, they still called it a threatened miscarriage. So I'm terrified. I went for a follow-up today and the doctor I got was awful. He pretty much told me I should just go home and wait because I would probably miscarry. BUT in the same breath tells me my lab work from the ER looked great!? I don't know what to expect. My husband and I want this baby so bad and now I feel like I've just been dismissed as no hope. The cramps are still present, very light. The bleeding, however, while still very light brown in color, is a bit heavier than it was Monday. Has anyone ever experienced this? Any advice on how in the world I'm supposed to just "wait this out"?? I've got a new doctor appointment in 10 days for my 8 week visit, where I was hoping my husband could also see the heartbeat, but that sounds like an eternity from now...

Re: Light bleeding & cramping...but saw heartbeat

• Hi, sorry ur going thru this! If ur bloodwork from the ER was good and they saw the heartbeat why would a doc then say ur gunna MC? First trimester spotting and cramping are really common so I'm confused... Did u ask the doc to clarify when he said that? If I were u I would go on what the ER said. It sounds like they said everything was looking good for now. Good luck!! <3