November 2015 Moms
Options

What should I tell my 7 yr old about breastfeeding?

looking for some advice on how to explain to my seven year old about breastfeeding. He asked me tonight if he would be able to help feed his baby sister when she gets here. I told him we would see but DH is concerned about explaining the ins and outs. I am a biologist and am afraid I will be too technical and give more details than necessary and DH is a smart ass who would say something like only mommie can feed cause they have the meals on wheels. Either way I am afraid of what he will share with his second grade class after this discussion. Anyone with experience explaining this or any advice on the best way to explain it. Thanks in advance

Re: What should I tell my 7 yr old about breastfeeding?

• Options
    A friend of mine had this same concern and she ended up explaining it in reference to animals, I'm sure he knows that baby cows (etc..) drink from their momma, you can compare it like that or say that the mommies are the only ones that make the milk so the brothers and daddies have to help in other ways.
  • Options
    you can always pump and store and he can help feed her via bottle.

I don't think it will need much explaining. He's 7. I have a 5 yr old boy that will prolly ask once and I'll just tell him it's nature. That's how some mommies feed their babies. Just like a baby calf or puppies etc.. Lol

On the subject, but off the subject... This weekend at a county fair, we seen a woman with her shirt half off walking around the fair breastfeeding. she was in no way trying to cover up and you could literally see every inch of her size FF breast, except the nipple. It was terrible. There were children running around everywhere and luckily I seen her before my son did and I caught his attention to distract. I'm all for breast feeding, not so much for public indecency...
  • Loading the player...
  • Options