Formula Feeding

My choice to bottle feed

because we all need encouragement that our choice is ok:
I always knew breast feeding would be tough. I have grade 3 nipple inversion and medical websites and journals say there is little chance of success. Not only that but I am a doctor who actually does nipple eversion surgery. I have counseled women about this.
But I was willing to try. I went to a breast feeding class and was appalled by how militant they were. Any potential obstacle was treated as a case of the mother not trying hard enough. I began to get very emotional that I would regret the first few days with my daughter. But after talking to my husband and setting realistic goals I still wanted to give it a shot.
After birth, my god, you are so stinking emotional that you do just about anything for your baby. My little munchkin (2 weeks early and just 5.5 lbs) was a voracious sucker but the nips wouldn't come out. The nurses were understanding but not super helpful. I had nipple shields and nipple cream but 24 hours in she hadn't had a drop of anything (unless you count all the blood coming from one side.). It was ungodly painful and I was massaging them so hard that the whole breast was bruised.
A lactation consultant gave me tons of pointers but no real wiggle room for failure. Suddenly every two hours I had to do compresses, massage, self express, lube up. Nipple shield, unsuccessfully feed, then pump and re lube. By the time I was done Id have 30 minutes to rest and start again. All for zero nutrition. And she was getting desperate. Crying, hungry, constantly rooting.