1st Trimester

Is it normal my dr won't give me an ultrasound until 20 weeks?

My dr told me that there really isn't anything to see until 20 weeks. I don't really feel comfortable going 1/2 way through my pregnancy before getting my first ultrasound. Thoughts?

Best Answer

Re: Is it normal my dr won't give me an ultrasound until 20 weeks?

• America. I'm in Indiana.
  • Loading the player...
  • kynbar5kynbar5 member
    edited August 2015
    This is normal. Every ob office is different. If it's not a high risk pregnancy and your insurance doesn't cover extra then this is pretty normal for a lot of women.
    Eta- there are places that you can get them done but you pay out of pocket.
    March '16 December Siggy Challenge - Favorite Christmas Movies/Quotes
  • What constitutes a high risk pregnancy? This is my first pregnancy so I'm new to all this. Is it just my overall health they go by?
  • Each doctor varies on what they do. Some will do an ultrasound very early and some only do the minimum throughout the pregnancy. If this is your first pregnancy and you have no family history or risk factors they may not see a necessity to do more than the minimum. Some doctors even believe there may be some risks in doing more ultrasounds and therefore won't do them unless medically necessary. I would discuss it with your doctor and find out why he/she chose to wait.
  • Thank you. I've mentioned it to the nurse over the phone and she said she would talk to the dr. I'll ask again when I go back again on the 10th. I appreciate your inputs :)
  • I have had one both pregnancies at 6 weeks
  • Very normal. With my first 3 pregnancies my first ultrasound was my anatomy scan. With my fourth pregnancy I only had an ultrasound at 11weeks due to heavy bleeding. This was to check on a hemorrhage and health of the baby. My next ultrasound will be at 19weeks which will be my anatomy scan.
  • **LURKING FROM TTGP**