January 2016 Moms

Unisom takers - full pill or half?

Having a FTM worry moment - I've been taking 25mg Unisom (a full sleep tab) every night for morning sickness. I've seen a lot of other women mention they're doing the same thing, but most seem like they're doing a half pill each night. I'm wondering if I'm going overboard taking a full pill, since Diclegis is 20 mg each night of the drug in Unisom (versus the 25mg I'm taking). Anyone else taking a full?

Re: Unisom takers - full pill or half?

• BabyBump2BabyBump2 member
    edited August 2015
    I take full. It makes me super sleepy, even when I get 9 hours of sleep. But I think it's worth it.
  • I don't take unisom but i am a pharmacist. Taking a full tablet (25 mg) is perfectly fine.
  • Loading the player...
  • I only took half because a whole tablet knocked me out and I was drowsy in the AM
  • I take half a unisom and 25 mg (a quarter of a tablet) of B6 every 7-8 hours and it helps tremendously. Just don't go over 100 mg of B6 in a day!
  • I do half because otherwise it knocks me on my ass.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Wow I don't have morning sickness but can pregnant take take unisom for insomnia? I have a terrible time falling into a deep sleep. The midwife says have some chamoMille tea. Yea right that does nothing! So frustrating not sleeping! This happened with my last pregnancy too
  • It says on the unisom website not to take while pregnant but I think most say that to err on the side of caution. Thoughts?
  • I take a whole unisom at bedtime every night which helps my stomach and helps me get s much better nights rest!
  • @Ashafer7 - unisom is safe to take while pregnant. It's pregnancy category B, meaning it is not expected to cause harm to the unborn baby. My OB has said I can take it every single day if I want. Check with your OB if you're unsure.
    BFP #1 - EDD 4/18/13 | DS born 5/1/13. 9 lbs. 14 oz., 22 inches long.

BFP #2 - EDD 1/25/16