November 2015 Moms
Options

Any brave mom's using cloth diapers?

So I work in a hospital and all my nursing friends are split 50/50 on using cloth diapers or not. I wasn't planning to but maybe someone who's used them before could tell me a bit about it?

How easy are they to clean? How do you sanitize them?

Anything you could share with me would be great :)

Re: Any brave mom's using cloth diapers?

• Options
    There are quite a few of us doing cloth diapers! If you use the search function, you'll find a lot of threads on cloth diapers with great information!
    The diapers are easy to clean, I'd recommend getting liners to make the poop easier to clean up.
  • Options
    We use cloth. If you use the search function there are several threads with great advice.
    There is also a cloth diapering board that is filled with tons of people with great knowledge.
    Baby Boy born on 1/14/13
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    We're doing a diaper service for at least the first 6 months because we don't have our own washer right now and my mom offered to help us with it. It's pricier than just doing cloth and washing it yourself, but it's what will work in our situation. Once we have a place with our own washer in the spring, I'll decide if we want to keep it up on our own. I have several friends who cloth diaper and love it. I like that it's more eco friendly, and is good for babies with sensitive skin.

Do you know anyone who cloth diapers? It would be worth it to have someone show you what they do and recommend some brands for supplies. That really helped me make my decision about using cloth.
  • Options
    We took a cloth diaper class from a local store that sells them. Maybe you can find something like that in your area? We thought it was a great way to get started!
  • Options
    I find that cloth diapering is way more common then people realize! We started using cloth when my daughter was 6 weeks old and haven't looked back! It's extremely easy.