January 2016 Moms

Pressure from OB

My previous OB retired right after dd was born. Before seeing my new doctor for the first time I read reviews online. They all said he was so great and blah, blah. Some of them did say that, although they loved him, he spent the last few minutes of every appointment talking about/selling you these supplements. It's called Nanopak... I'd never heard of them but I guess Dr. Oz is big on them. It'd be $60 a month and insurance doesn't cover supplements. So I've had 3 appointments with him now, and at the end we sit in his office and I ask him my questions. His answer to pretty much every question goes back to these damn supplements and how they have this and that in them that can help with whatever I asked about. I just sit and listen. Last time I told him I'd talk to my husband about it. I'm not good at just flat out saying I DONT' WANT THAT SHIT. I took One a Day prenatals (and taking them again this time) with dd and she turned out fine. Now I'm stuck with what to say at my next appointment to stop the sales pitch for good. I don't want to come off as a bitch but I want to be firm. Any advice?

Re: Pressure from OB

• I always go for team bitch.

But you could always tell him thank you for trying to help, but I'm really not interested.
    And if he tries it again be firm, he really shouldn't be trying to sell you anything ESPECIALLY after you tell him you aren't interested.
  • Loading the player...
  • nackienackie member
    Honestly, how much do you like this OB? i don't know anything about that particular brand, but most of those supplements are super sketchy and I'd be very suspicious of any doctor that tried to sell them to them to me