Baby Names

Love the sound, hate the look/spelling

2-Step2-Step member
edited July 2015 in Baby Names
Does anyone have names they love but just can't get past the way they look on paper? I am a writer and graphic designer so maybe I am more crazy about it than some people would be. Some names sound great, but when written down they just look unbalanced or wrong. Like the strength of the name is not reflected in its written form. 

For me the biggest one is Sean. I love the sound of the name and it's been on our list for both boys. It is also a family name, but I just think Sean looks awful on paper and I always want to say it - See-ann or something similar. I know in my head it is Sean. I know it could be Shaun, but I that is also the more common feminine version and I can't get past that either. What names do you like, but dislike the spelling or the way they look written on paper?

ETA: weird formatting fixed

Re: Love the sound, hate the look/spelling

• It could also be spelled Shawn. I prefer Sean though. I totally get what your saying about some names not looking "right" on paper.
  • flasflas member
    I'm a graphic designer too so I can understand what you're getting at :). I can't think of any names off the top of my head but I know there have been some.
  • Loading the player...
  • I chose my son's name (Isaac) because I love the way it looks, with the 2 a's together.
    I love biblical names and Eli and Job are both names that I love, but I can't get past seeing "Ellie" for Eli and Job (J-oab) obviously just looks like the word job!
  • I'm a photographer and so the visual aspect gets me too! There are names I like the sound of but won't use cause the spelling bothers me and "tastes" or looks displeasing aesthetically.
    I think there are also names for me that I love the spelling/way they look but hate the way they sound. Haha
  • 2-Step said: