January 2016 Moms

Will you get the flu vaccine while pregnant?

jem8407jem8407 member
edited July 2015 in January 2016 Moms
I am a teacher who rarely falls ill; however I am curious about the flu vaccine this year to keep the fetus healthy.
I did read all other threads but did not see one about our vaccines.

Will you get the flu vaccine while pregnant? 216 votes

Yes
75% 163 votes
No
24% 53 votes

Re: Will you get the flu vaccine while pregnant?

• I'm only a yes because my job makes me.
  • Loading the player...
  • Yup. But we have to be sure to get the one that is thimerosal free. Thimerosal contains trace amounts of mercury (less than some fish, but still) and isn't recommended for pregnant women.
  • mamaksweezmamaksweez member
    edited July 2015
    I never got a flu vaccine until I was pregnant with my first. My doc told me I should get it and anyone who will be around my child, husband, parents, etc.

So of course I got it then, and I will get it this time too! Like a pp said I'll get the TDAP when I'm pregnant too! (Whooping cough)
  • I will be getting it this year, but the egg-free option. I don't have an egg-sensitivity, but if I get the one with the egg I get so so ill afterwards!
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • I am in the same boat as you.  I am a teacher and knock on wood, I have NEVER gotten the flu shot, nor have I fallen ill to the flu or any flu like symptoms.  I will be getting it, for the simple fact that I am pregnant, otherwise I probably wouldn't bother.  
  • This is on the list to talk to the doctor about. I really want to keep the baby safe, and I have no issues getting the vaccine, but I always get so sick afterwards.
  • Yes. Flu and TDAP
    BFP #1 - EDD 4/18/13 | DS born 5/1/13. 9 lbs. 14 oz., 22 inches long.

BFP #2 - EDD 1/25/16