January 2016 Moms
Options

Maternity leave questions for HR

I've read through other articles and posts about maternity leave, but didn't see any that really addressed this.  I am a teacher and I have a meeting with HR next Monday to discuss maternity leave.  I thought it would be a good idea to go to the meeting prepared with a list of questions to ask.  For those of you with experience (and those with good ideas!), what are some questions I want to make sure that I ask HR next week?  I want to make sure that I cover all of my bases and don't forget to ask something big.  

I'm also possibly thinking about quitting and not returning to work when the baby is born... but I want to know what the consequences are (sometimes a teaching license can be suspended if a teacher quits mid-year).  Is there a way to tactfully ask about the consequences/possibilities of doing this?

Re: Maternity leave questions for HR

• Options
    Ask how long you're given leave and if it's paid and at what percentage of your normal pay. Ask if the leave time is different if you deliver vaginally or have to have c-section (it is where I work). I'll try to think of anything else but baby brain is kicking my ass right now.
  • Options
    steph_pegasussteph_pegasus member
    edited July 2015
    Ask about FMLA too.

Eta have a friend who is on long-term disability now after having pelvic complications from her vaginal delivery - you just never know what's going to happen when it's go time.
    I got confused, sorry.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I have a section for policy notices on my company's intranet. I am able to use 12 weeks for FMLA, and then I can also request a personal leave of up to 3 months. I know I'll use more than my 12 weeks with possible home rest/bed rest/ unforeseen complications- so it's nice to have option for leave too.

Two years, two losses and three IUIs...

We are having TRIPLETS!

EDD 1/26/16

GGB born November 2015!

• Options
    Hrc724Hrc724 member