February 2016 Moms

Young mummies

Hi there, I'm 5 weeks and 3 days pregnant and 21 years old. I'm soooo nervous to tell people I'm pregnant being so young I'm afraid people (like my parents) will be disappointed/judgemental.

My partner and I have only been together 2 and a half years, living together for 2 years and engaged for 1 year (wedding is Jan. 2017), I'm also only working part time because I'm in my 3rd year of uni with 2 years still to go so money is tight even though my partner works full time. I know everyone would have rathered that I finish uni and be married before getting pregnant which is why I'm so scared! We had talked about having a baby as we both want to be young parents but now it's actually happening I'm ridiculously scared!!

Any other young mummies out there having Feb babies that can relate? Xx

Re: Young mummies

• I was 21 when I was pregnant with my twin girls (except I was married already). I was never nervous to tell anyone but I think at any age, point in life, you get some weird unwanted responses. At that point, a lot of peoples first response after a happy congrats was "what are you going to do about school?".....being pregnant doesn't make you broken. You can still do both. Assuming you have a great support system and your priorities aligned properly to ensure that you can do both!

FWIW, I'm 24 now and pregnant with #3 (again, planned) and now the question is "what are you going to put the baby? You only have a two bedroom house?!"
    Our twins share the second bedroom and the 3rd will too! Kids don't need a whole lot of space to sleep and it's not on our plans to live here forever, obviously.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • bbax44bbax44 member