Babies on the Brain

Boyfriend in denial with TTC

Jennyl1414Jennyl1414 member
edited May 2015 in Babies on the Brain
Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie here so please tell me if I'm posting in the wrong place! :/

Is anyone else's partner in denial about how soon you could possibly get caught? We both agreed it was time to come off BCP, however my boyfriend is certain it will take at least 6months... I understand it may take a while, but I think he needs to understand it could also happen sooner. I would hate for him to be disappointed! I've tried talking to him & he's completely in denial!

Any similar stories or advice anybody could give?

Re: Boyfriend in denial with TTC

• My H is on the opposite side. He thinks going off BC means that We will be having a baby next February. I am trying to help him understand it might take awhile so he isn't discouraged if it doesn't happen right away.

I think you should just keep talking to him and hopefully he will start to realize the truth. Maybe show him this thread. If you are off BC I would hope he wouldn't be disappointed about a pregnancy at anytime.
    Anniversary
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
    Love: March 2010  Marriage: July 2013  Debt Free: October 2014  TTC: April 2015
     BFP: April 10, 2016 EDD: December 19, 2016 Team Blue!
    Oscar born November 20, 2016 at 35w6d

• My DH also thinks it will take like 6 months, but he'd be delighted with a baby sooner.  At least there will (hopefully) be less pressure as he's not expecting it to happen right away.  But I understand your concern.  I agree with PP, I'd keep bringing it up to see if you can figure out what's going on there.  Maybe he just doesn't want to get his hopes up?  But you may want to tell him that if he definitely is not going to be ready for you to be pregnant for 6 more months, then you guys should use condoms until he's ready, and see what he says to that.
  • Loading the player...
  • Thank you @alyssa32713 and @penelope4612 for your replies :)