August 2015 Moms

Breast Pump Accessories -STM opinions

Just received my Medela In Style Advanced from my insurance company. It comes with the basics but I am wondering what else I may need /want to make the whole process more efficient. I plan to pump at work when I go back and while I have a "private" (only my boss and i use it unless there is a training event) kitchen and my boss is all for me taking whatever time I need, I feel that I should spend as much company time actually working as I possibly can (my parents pushed some heavy work ethics into me). So STMs, are there items that were a must have for you or that looking back you wish you had?

Re: Breast Pump Accessories -STM opinions

• I would just make sure the breast shields fit your nipples well. It comes with an "average" size but if you're much smaller or larger pumping will not be as easy.
  • A hands free bra is a must. I worked while I pumped sending emails and grading (I'm a teacher). Possibly get a second set of pumping parts. You can get kits with everything you need on amazon for pretty inexpensive.
  • Loading the player...
  • e1223e1223 member
    Yes to hands-free pumping bra - ESSENTIAL. Also, not sure if yours came with this, but a battery pack and car charger were helpful for me if I ever had to pump while out and about. Freezer bags (I liked the lansinoh ones the best but it's been 3 years for me). Also, 8oz bottles to pump into if you want - I know some women who just used the same bottles all day. I always just rinsed pump parts and put in a gallon ziplock in the fridge between pump sessions at work. The wipes are also good if you want to do a bit more than rinsing but I think fully washing after each pump at work is overkill - I just washed every night. Extra pump parts also a good idea.