Pregnant after a Loss

Getting pregnant after a miscarriage

hello! I'm new to the bump, last Monday I found out I was pregnant with my first we have been trying for 6 months... On Friday I had a miscarriage which I'm still trying to get over! I'm devastated! But I was wondering how long does it take to get pregnant again?

Re: Getting pregnant after a miscarriage

• So sorry for your loss. You should ask your doctor when it's okay to start trying. Even then, nobody will be able to pinpoint when you will fall pregnant again.

The girls on the TTCAL board may be more helpful. Girls on this board are already expecting after a loss.

• I'm so sorry for your loss.  Definitely check in with your doctor.

My doctor was, one cycle - which meant go through one menstrual cycle after the miscarriage (one period) and then start trying again.  Others may say wait longer, but for emotional reasons as well. 

Do check out the TTCAL board as well, but it's understandable checking in here as we're now PgAL. 

Best of luck to you!!!

• Loading the player...
  • It's different for everyone. Talk to your doctor. Best of luck to you!
  • It took me a year to get pregnant again.
  • I am so sorry for your loss :( I miscarried in October last year. My partner and I started trying again when the bleeding stopped and once we felt it was right (depending on how far you were the doctor might recommend you wait longer) I am now 12 weeks pregnant after 5 months of TTC. I've heard of people who got pregnant before their first cycle and others who weren't able to for 12 months. It depends on you. I found that once I stopped stressing so much about TTC (which took months) that it finally happened. Just make sure that you are ready and give yourself time. Goodluck :)