August 2015 Moms
Options

3-hour glucose test nightmare

hi ladies, it's my first time posting, other than just responses, but I'm so frustrated I just need to hear what some others who have been through this might think.

I failed my one hour test (I think I ate too many carbs beforehand, and I was the last appt of the day). So I went in for the 3 hour.

My fasting blood sugar was 78, so that's awesome. Then for the 1 hour draw, 3 different nurses tried for half an hour and couldn't get blood from me, so I "automatically failed" that draw since they didn't get blood. I passed the two hour draw with flying colors, and then I failed the 3 hour draw by 3 POINTS. They drew my blood ten minutes early for the 3 hour draw, which seriously could have affected my reading.

Now, since I have 2 "failures" counting my "automatic failure", I technically failed overall. I have to finger prick for 2 weeks and self monitor before they diagnose me, but I am sooooo far beyond frustrated and anxious about this.

Can anyone relate to this? Any tips as i begin my self-monitoring phase? I feel like the incompetence of the nursing staff really set me up for failure. I'm a super healthy eater (who does enjoy the occasional treats in moderation), and I have never once been spoken to about inappropriate weight gain during this pregnancy.

I just needed to vent to a group of ladies who might understand my frustration and disappointment.

Re: 3-hour glucose test nightmare

• Options