March 2015 Moms

Work Guilt

I am a teacher and I will have to go back to work in August. I feel lucky that I have five months off before returning to work. But I also feel bad and sad about returning to work.I have thought about trying to work part time but I'm not sure if I'll be able to. I definitely have the personality of someone who needs to work at least part-time. I was just wondering if anyone else is having mixed feelings about going back to work?

Re: Work Guilt

• secretbabasecretbaba member
    edited May 2015
    I'm self-employed, with no maternity leave, and I've set a goal of going back to work, at least part-time, in June. My job involves a lot of travelling, and lo and behold the first potential trip is Paris. I'm seriously rethinking my goal now, at least until we move in August - but since I get no maternity leave we need the money!

Edited to add: so I completely understand what you're going through, although I can't offer any advice yet
  • I'm definitely having mixed feelings about going back. I've got 3 weeks left of my 12 week leave from what is essentially my dream job with people I really like. Aside from being sad and nervous about trusting strangers with the daycare transition, I realized the other day that when I'm working, I'll basically have 4 hours a day with my son. Despite having a great job that I like to return to, I'm just not sure 4 hours is going to be enough time with him. My husband is supportive of the idea of me staying home, but it will be extremely tight financially. I also worry about trying to break back into the workforce if I quit my job. Sigh...
  • Loading the player...