November 2015 Moms

11w6d ultrasound - POSITIVE post :)

oooonerooooner member
edited May 2015 in November 2015 Moms

Hi ladies!  I am 11w7d as of today, and I suppose I'm actually 12 weeks now, eh??  This is my first “real” pregnancy (had an early D&C in 2006) so forgive me, I am new to all of this.  Last week my regular OB/GYN referred me to another office for fetal genetic testing and a possible amnio.  I had the initial consultation appointment yesterday, and wanted to share my experience.

I have been terrified of needing/getting an amnio, and I had actually completely decided against it due to the miscarriage risk (plus I do not like needles), so I was a little hesitant going into this appointment, not sure what to expect.  They took my vitals and weighed me, then went straight into a 2D ultrasound, and eventually switched to 3D/4D toward the end.  They performed an NT scan (Nuchal translucency screening) and the measurement was in the normal range.  What a relief! 

Even though I had just seen the baby with a 171BPM heart rate during a transvaginal dating ultrasound when I was 10w5d, I was very glad to see the baby’s heart flicker again.  This time the baby was sleeping and allowed the tech to take the crown-to-rump length easily (5.3cm - up from 3.6cm) and the heartbeat was 162BPM.  The tech kept trying to get a good angle on baby’s face, but the little sucker rolled over and faced the opposite direction!  And when baby did turn back around, its arms were crossed over its face!  Haha, it was too cute.  Camera shy.