November 2015 Moms

Question for all RN's

How are you all travelling with work?

I'm working full time on a very busy high dependency/coronary care ward and am finding it really exhausting,, especially when doing 6 days in a row.

Keeping up with the house work and trying to meal prep is lacking. Has anyone got any tips?

Thanks heaps

Katie

Re: Question for all RN's

• I am the same way. I work as an RN in an operating room of a level one trauma center and an exhausted by the time my shifts are over. I just let my body tell me what to do. If I'm too tired and feel like I literally can't cook or clean I don't and my husband understands lol you don't want to push yourself too much with a high stress job.
  • I would die with six in a row! I try to do 2 shifts on and then three shifts off. I rarely do three shifts in a row! My floor is way to busy for that! We care for most of the Rapid Response patients in the hospital that need more care...it is crazy busy, cardiac PCU!
  • Loading the player...
  • Neuro ICU here and it's a two hour drive each way. I did 6 in a row last week and it put me back in the hospital. Soooo not worth it! I have HG and it's been hell trying to work, last code I ran I couldn't even do cpr because I was puking everywhere
  • I work in a crazy busy pcu. I was fortunate to be home the last 3 months because I broke my wrist. I am absolutely dreading returning to work now that I am 13 weeks Along. God give me strength. Mommies just listen to your body. Good luck
  • My biggest thing is to have enough food that I can hurry and eat when I have 30 seconds. I really like an apple at 4 am to keep me going. I honestly have no idea how I'm going to keep up in a few months. But I know it's been done before so I'll just keep pushing along.
  • Glad I'm not the only one feeling it! Thank god I'm not doing night shifts anymore, they were a killer. Hope you all take good care of yourselves as it's easy to put all the patients first.

Katie