August 2015 Moms

Teacher Mamas

If you are breastfeeding/pumping, how do you plan on making it work when school is back in session?  I'm pretty clueless.

Re: Teacher Mamas

• I won't have to worry about it this time around, but with my first daughter I pumped at work. I'm a science teacher so I had it a little easier. I have a storeroom that has a fridge and sink. The door has no windows and a lock. I pumped during my one plan period, lunch break, and right after school. I got good enough at it that it took me about 35 minutes from start to finish. I didn't wash my pump parts until that evening. I'd put them in a ziplock in the fridge. All my parts and bottles where in a lunch box to hide them enough, since it was a shared fridge.
  • dkizz82dkizz82 member
    I am wondering the same thing. I am lucky that I am an ESL pullout/ pushin teacher so I pretty much can set my own schedule and work a few breaks in there. I hope to pump at least 3 times a day. I'll just lock my door and sit at my desk and pump. :)
    Pregnancy Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • First time around I didn't. If my schedule is anything like it is this year I don't see how I'll have any time. We're on a/b schedule and on my a days I start at 7:40 and don't get a break until 12:15 (only 30 min)... And I have no idea where I'd go to do it! I'd've paranoid doing it in my room... Knowing my luck they'd come in for the trash even if my door was locked lol
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I teach high school and I asked my boss to spread out my plan periods and my lunch. I know it'll be tight but I'm gonna give it a try.
  • I will do something like this again.

Either nurse or pump right before leaving for work.
    Pump during my planning time mid-morning.
    Possibly pump over lunch.
    Possibly pump before leaving work.
    Nurse as soon as I get home.