1st Trimester
Options

Endless tears... Am I too emotional at work?

I am struggling with my emotions, especially at work. I work as a Maintenance Manager at a resort and if that isn't hard enough, I'm isually showing a brave face and being tough. We recently got a new General Manager, and he is just constantly on my case about things to be done. And I just break down in tears! Seriously?? Not very professional at all. By now he thinks I'm a cry baby and not cut out for management. But I'm only 7 weeks along and I feel like it is too early to tell him I'm pregnant which would explain away the crying. I also feel really stressed out when I have to face work nowadays because of his expectations... Don't want to harm my baby... What do I do?

Re: Endless tears... Am I too emotional at work?

• Options
    Stress can't hurt your baby. 
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    Thanks for your honesty guys. Today was actually a better day - no tears!
  • Options
    While stress does affect everyone differently, every day stresses aren't likely at all to affect a pregnancy.

Extreme high levels of constant stress can, but as PP said, it has to be pretty significant (abuse, poverty/war-torn environment, etc). Those levels of stress aren't healthy for most people.

Now if OP was living day in and day out with outright harassment and discrimination from her boss, that amount of stress *could* potentially cause health issues. However, it sounds more like frustration and she seems to be able to handle it well after having a vent about it, stepping back, and re-evaluating the situation.

It is wise for everyone to develop good coping techniques to reduce stress, but every day minor stresses aren't a major risk for a healthy normal pregnancy :)
  • Options