Baby Showers

Etiquette Question

Okay, I searched for this but didn't find anything particularly helpful.

When I announced my pregnancy, one of my co-workers very enthusiastically told me that she was planning on throwing me a work shower (which is awesome!). However, I haven't heard anything about it since then. Of the two showers that I've been to here, both of them were 'surprise' showers for the mom to be. I also work in a school, and we're getting thrown into state testing time, so I am almost positive that nothing shower related will happen until after that's died down a little (mid-May). Also, I'm not going to be upset if this work shower never happens; I get that people are busy and I don't want anyone to feel extra stress at an already rough time of year.

My concern comes from the shower that my MIL is  planning. There are several of my co-workers that I would love to have in attendance, but I don't want to appear gift-grabby by inviting them to another one if the work shower happens. So, do I assume that the work shower will happen and don't invite them (since we'll be able to celebrate later), or do I invite them anyway and risk making them feel like I need to have a gift at both showers? OR do I just ask my co-worker if one is happening or not? I don't want to offend anyone; I'm the first one to have a baby in my family and I've never been to a baby shower so I don't know what the etiquette is in this situation. TIA!

Re: Etiquette Question

• Can you ask one of the close friends to check on it for you?  And if they are close friends then they will not mind getting invited to both.  A school/work shower is usually a different feeling from a family one.  They can decide which one they want to attend or get you two smaller items.  I don't think you will look gift hungry if you invite a few close friends from work. 
  • AmstreagleAmstreagle member
    edited April 2015