Infertility
Options

Introduction: RPL, IVF/ICSI/PGD/PGS/FET

Hello everyone.

I'm new to this Infertility Board, unfortunately, infertility is not new to me. My husband and I have suffered four miscarriages and are currently in the process IVF. Here is a quick summary of our IVF journey thus far:

3/4/15: Egg Retrieval
16 Eggs Retrieved -- 15 Fertilized via ICSI -- 10 Blastocysts Biopsied for PGD & PGS -- 2 Embryos Remain for Transfer
5/13/15: Scheduled FET

We are trying to stay as positive as we can, but also prepare ourselves for the possible negative outcomes, because of our past experiences. We were very hopeful when we learned we had 10 biopsies for PGD/PGS testing, but when we learned only 2 were healthy for transfer it was such a disappointment. Now I'm worried that the two we do have, will not survive the thaw. And if that happens, we will need to make the decision: Start the process/Pay the large amount of money all over again OR Start a new journey/plan without children.

I've lurked a bit at the conversations and I've noticed that many of you have done several cycles of IVF.... and my question is, how do you afford it? Are you taking out loans? Dipping into savings? We have paid for the medications, PGD probes, PGD/PGS testing, blood tests, ultrasounds etc out of pocket. For the lump IVF retrieval/transfer payment we took out a 24 month loan.

It has been a challenging five and half years. But I can say that my husband and I have only become closer and our relationship has grown stronger. I'm more anxious than anything at this point. I feel like I need to reach a finish line in this reproductive journey, one way or another. Anyone else feel that way?

Thank you for taking the time to read this.
*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *
"Although the world is full of suffering, it is also full of the overcoming of it" 
--Helen Keller 

4 miscarriages: Nov 2009,  Jan 2011, Sept 2011,  Oct 2012
IVF Round 1: