2nd Trimester

Lower Back pain in early second trimester

Hi All,

This is my first time writing on the 2nd trimester forum. :) Today I am 14 weeks and 2 days.

Anywho, I have experience really bad lower back pain that seems to just be getting worse by the day for about a week or two now. I've had "minor" back pain for close to 7 years now but nothing compared to what I feel now. During the day, I am able to handle the pain but it's when i'm actually sleeping that the pain is at its worst. I have been training myself to sleep on my sides since I found out I was pregnant because my only comfortable spot is laying on my stomach. So again, I have been trying to train my body to get used to being on either side, however now my lower back is in excruciating pain only when I am asleep. The best way I can describe it is, it almost feels like I am paralyzed and cannot move left or right. It's really THAT bad!!! It hurts to even move, so of course my sleep isnt really relaxing.

Has anyone else experience lower back pain in your early 2nd trimester? How did you deal with it? I asked my nurse if using Icy Hot was okay but I have yet to hear back. Do any of you know if it's safe to use all night?

Thanks!

Re: Lower Back pain in early second trimester

• oldcupcakeoldcupcake member
    edited February 2015
    I feel your pain. Sometimes i looked like a hunched old woman when i walk. I've been taking long baths and using a bean/rice bag hot pack on my lower back and doing yoga an hour before bed. It's works enough for me to sleep for 3 or 4 hours. I wouldn't do icy hot until you hear back, the pamphlet says to check with you provider before using.
  • I'm 14w1d and I have some mild lower back pain, nothing as severe as what you're describing. I have been doing some lower back stretches and sleeping on my side with a pillow between my knees seems to help too. Good luck!
    Me: 37, DH: 38: ttc 7 years, dx: unknown
    10/11: after 2 years, saw a RE, FSH 5.4