Multiples

not gaining enough

I'm 30 weeks pregnant with twins and I've only gained about 20 lbs. I gained about 80 with my first 2 single pregnancies. My Dr told me I need to put on an extra 15 lbs to catch up to where I should be with twins. Ive been trying but to no avail. Then I just had my growth ultrasound and they said the babies are growing fine. They're actually measuring about a pound more than average. So why do I have to keep trying to eat so much it makes me sick?

Re: not gaining enough

• I'm not a doctor, but if your babies are growing just fine, I would think that you are doing fine as well. Could you get a second opinion? Do keep eating. It's tough and so hard to do towards the end when you have almost no room. But the body is an amazing thing, it grows babies! Wishing you well during your last weeks of pregnancy!
  • I'm not sure why your doctor would tell you that you need to gain more if your babies growth is fine.  Is he/she an MFM??  My daughters were born at 30 weeks and I had gained 24 lbs.They were great weights for being so early (3.2 lbs).  Eating nutritious meals and protein, that's what your doctor should be concerned about not how much you are gaining.
  • Loading the player...
  • If the babies are growing well, then I see no reason to gain more weight.  Of course, eat when you are hungry and maybe try to add more protein and Omega-3s but eating Snickers is not going to contribute to the health of your twins in any way.

I only gained around 28 pounds in 33 weeks, and I think 6 of those were in the last 2 weeks.  My babies were good sized for being born 6 weeks early.

D & L are here at 34 weeks 4 days by vaginal and breech delivery on 11/19/2013
    Two healthy boys weighing 4 lbs 15 ozs and 4 lbs 5 ozs.  Only 6 days in the NICU and getting bigger, stronger and cuter every day! 
  • I did full-fat yogurts and string cheese between meals and tried to get peanut butter and apples in every day too.