1st Trimester
Options

According to lmp 8 weeks and 5 days, ultrasound only measuring 4 weeks. Does this sound possible?

My last period was December 12 2014, I was 17 days late when I went to the hospital and they said I had a positive pregnancy test.

That was on February 1st, 2015.

Today was my first prenatal appointment, I didn't get a physical exam, my doctor didn't really talk to me about anything. She just handed me lab paper work and got me into ultrasound.

I should have been around 8 1/2 weeks according to my last period but the ultrasound only measured 4 weeks and 2 days. All they could see was a gestational sac. They set an appointment from a month from now for me to come back. 

I asked my doctor if that was normal or what might cause my ultrasound to look like that and all she said was "I've been doing this for 30 years and you are asking me if this is normal?" , laughed and walked out of the room.

Does this make any sense? I am really scared right now. I don't understand why I would measure 4 weeks if my last period was two months ago to the day.

What do you guys think?

Re: According to lmp 8 weeks and 5 days, ultrasound only measuring 4 weeks. Does this sound possible?

• Options
    Maybe 2 months ago you had a wonky cycle...the month after ovulated later than you thought and then got pregnant.....therefore you are 4 weeks along (then yes..it would only be a sac).
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    Like PPs said, you could have just ovulated late. Also your doctor sounds like a jerk and I think you should find a new one.
    Anniversary 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
    Pregnancy Ticker
  • Options
    I would not want this doctor involved with my pregnancy, birth, or post partum care.
    Lilypie Breastfeeding tickers Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickers
    Parent of Baby Boy M, born December 2013 Angels: Miscarriage @ 9 weeks, May 2015, Chemical Pregnancy November 2015

Lilypie Maternity tickers
  • Options