August 2015 Moms

Cloth Diapers V.S Disposable?

I've been looking into cloth diapers, ex. Bumgenius, & it's a little overwhelming. There is so many options & I've never dealt with them before.
Has anyone used Cloth diapers? I know they supposedly save money, but are they really worth the hassle that they seem to be?
Thanks in advanced ladies!

Re: Cloth Diapers V.S Disposable?

•  I've been using CDs for 15 months now. I don't find them much of a hassel at all. We use Alva diapers and I have about 40 of them. I wash them about once a week now that we've started putting her in a disposable at night.
  • We use both. They definitely have their pros and cons. Cloth is easiest when exclusively bfing cause the poop can just be thrown in the washing machine. If you have to supplement or when you start solids you will need to clean off at least the majority of it by one of many methods (dunking/swiching, diaper sprayer, spatula, etc...). They are bulkier. Some are trimmer than others, but all are bulkier than disposables. This does limit clothing options some particularly with things likes jeans. We have a couple pairs of adjustable waste jeans that we bought a size up and hemmed for my 26 month old, but her other ones that fit better with disposables are cuter. Leggings usually aren't an issue, and if you like some of the trendier cloth-diaper friendly pants then you probably wouldn't care much on that one.

We prefer disposables at night just as a preference. my daughter is a very heavy night wetter - always has been, so it either meant very bulky night diapers (even with super absorbent liners) or nighttime diaper changes in cloth even after she quit pooping at night. Even in disposables we have to size up at night.

Cloth diapers are much better at containing infant explosive poo. Way better. To the extent that even if we were putting a disposable on her for some reason, we would still often put a cloth diaper cover on for added protection.