Baby Showers
Options

baby shower newb

My BFF is due with her first baby in May and I've offered to throw her a shower, but I've never attended, let alone hosted, a baby shower. I just need some pointers to make sure I'm going in the right direction. I feel like I know how to host a party properly; I'm just new to the parents-to-be thing. I'm also new to the Bump; I used the Knot forums a fair amount for planning my wedding a few years ago, but I'm relatively unfamiliar with any Bump/baby-specific jargon.

She and I talked by phone today to clarify some specifics (date, rough number of people invited, location options) and general feel of the event, which will be a co-ed, low-key shower for her and her husband. They frequently host BBQs and holiday parties, and we are both envisioning something similar. Guest list will be friends only (their families are hosting a separate family shower), men and women invited, as well as the few young kids in their social circle -- probably inviting 30-40 people in total. Location will be my home.

Questions:
- Time of day? I had thought about afternoon, in between meal times, say 2-5 pm, with appetizers, but maybe doing a simple meal would be easier, either at lunch time or early dinner.
- Related to that, food? I'm currently considering doing appetizers (my husband and my mom have offered to help). But BBQing or getting catering from a local restaurant might be easier anyway? Is there a norm for baby showers?
- Games? She is not into really traditional, women-only games (neither am I), so I'm looking for (a) whether to have games, and (b), if so, what? I'm personally more comfortable with ongoing activities (like a registry-BINGO, is that still a thing?) as opposed to specifically timed events, as I dislike trying to herd people around. Ideas? We will have beer, wine, and non-alcoholic drinks.